Entertainment Monthly News

The Latest Music Releases You Don’t Want to Miss


As music streaming services continue to dominate the way we consume music, it can be overwhelming to sift through the myriad of new releases each week to find something worth listening to. Thankfully, this list provides a helpful weekly guide to the industry’s top new releases. 

The new releases from this week span a wide variety of genres and include a wide range of artists. The seventh studio album from Gorillaz, the electronic duo formed by musician Damon Albarn and visual artist Jamie Hewlett, is titled “Meanwhile” and features contributions from artists like Elton John and Robert Smith.

Model/Actriz, an experimental duo from New York, released their debut album Defeatist. Rapper Maxo has released his latest project, Smile, which features guest appearances from the rapper’s Earl Sweatshirt and his Pink Siifu.  

The post-punk band Shame’s “Drunk Tank Pink,” the electronic artist Yeat’s “You Will Learn To Suffer But Then You Can Cope,” and the RandB singer Tink’s “Heat of the Moment” are some of the other noteworthy albums released this week. Additionally, jazz trio The Necks’ 22nd album, “Three,” and classical pianist Katrina Krimsky’s album “Ariel’s Piano” were both released. “.

Electronic music lovers should also listen to Sideshow’s “The Moon,” which combines ambient, techno, and house music elements to produce an otherworldly listening experience.

With so much new music released every week, it’s easy to get overwhelmed. But with Pitchfork’s guidance, fans can discover exciting new artists and albums they may have missed.  

Even God Has a Sense of Humor [Def Jam] by Maxo

Maxo, the Los Angeles-based rapper, released his latest full-length album titled “Even God Has a Sense of Humor” on his 28th birthday this week. This album is a follow-up to his 2019 release, “Lil Big Man”. Maxo’s latest album features collaborations from talented artists such as Madlib, Pink Siifu, Liv.e, KeiyaA, and many more.

One of the singles from the album, “Free!”, has been receiving great reviews and has been featured on Pitchfork. The track features an upbeat and catchy instrumental, layered with Maxo’s quick and witty wordplay. The production of the song is credited to Brooklyn-based producer Sporting Life, who is known for his unique and experimental sound.

“Free!” talks about Maxo’s aspirations and his journey towards achieving his goals. He emphasizes the importance of self-belief, hard work, and the power of faith. Maxo’s lyrics are honest and relatable, making it easy for listeners to connect with his message.

Maxo’s latest album is a testament to his growth as an artist. It showcases his versatility and his ability to experiment with different sounds and styles. 

Even God Has a Sense of Humor is a highly anticipated release and has already received great reviews from fans and critics alike. With this album, Maxo has cemented his position as one of the most exciting and promising rappers in the game.

Read also: Broadway Star Ariana DeBose’s BAFTA Performance Goes Viral After Impromptu Rap

Food for Worms [Dead Oceans] by Shame

UK post-punk band Shame has released their latest album, Food for Worms, as a follow-up to their critically acclaimed 2021 album Drunk Tank Pink. The album was recorded live with producer Flood, who is known for his work with iconic artists like Nick Cave, U2, and PJ Harvey.

Food for Worms has been receiving positive reviews from critics, with journalist Zach Schonfeld praising the album’s “rousing, communal spirit that melts shards of icy post-punk into warmer forms.” The album showcases Shame’s signature blend of angular guitar riffs, propulsive rhythms, and frontman Charlie Steen’s impassioned vocals.

Tracks like “Human, for a Minute” and “Snow Day” feature dynamic instrumentation and introspective lyrics, while “6/1” and “Nigel Hitter” offer a more aggressive and frenetic sound. The album’s standout track, “Born in Luton,” is a scathing critique of the British class system, with Steen delivering searing lyrics over a driving bassline and jagged guitar riff.

AftërLyfe [Field Trip/Geffen] by Yeat

Portland-based rapper Yeat has returned with his latest project, AfterLyfë, following the success of his highly acclaimed 2021 album, Lyfë. The 22-track project features collaborations with artists such as YoungBoy Never Broke Again, Kranky Kranky, and Luh Geeky.

Yeat has been making waves in the hip-hop scene, amassing a dedicated following and gaining a million followers in just a month. His unique style, which blends trap beats with emo rap influences, has resonated with fans and critics alike. Yeat’s music often deals with themes of love, heartbreak, and self-reflection, which has further endeared him to his fans.

AfterLyfë builds on Yeat’s signature sound, showcasing his growth as an artist while staying true to his roots. The album features a range of styles, from the introspective “Wasteland” to the high-energy “4/4 Freestyle.” The collaborations on the album add depth and variety to the project, with YoungBoy Never Broke Again bringing his trademark southern drawl to the track “Pain.”

Read also: Babalon’s “Scream”: The Rise of an Indie-Electro-Pop Sensation

Cracker Island [Warner] by Gorillaz

Gorillaz have been making waves in the music scene for years, with their animated band members and innovative sound. And with their latest album, Cracker Island, they show no signs of slowing down.

Featuring collaborations with the likes of Bad Bunny, Thundercat, Stevie Nicks, and Tame Impala, Cracker Island offers a diverse range of musical styles and influences. Damon Albarn, the mastermind behind the animated band, sticks to his signature pop melodies and hip-hop touches, while bringing in returning collaborators like Beck and the Pharcyde’s Bootie Brown.

“Cracker Island leans on classic Gorillaz tropes: a handful of attention-grabbing features, a touch of hip-hop, a splash of dub, and great big helpings of Damon Albarn’s big-hearted melodies to bathe the record in misty sunshine,” says Ben Cardew in his review of the album for Pitchfork.

But Cracker Island is more than just a collection of catchy songs. Albarn uses the album to address important issues such as climate change and the refugee crisis, while also exploring themes of isolation and longing.

Dogsbody [True Panther] by Model/Actriz

Brooklyn-based band Model/Actriz has been making waves with their debut album, Dogsbody, which infuses busy, tense rock songs with an eclectic mix of cultural references. Bandleader Cole Haden’s love for Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musical Cats is evident in the album’s sound, which offers a unique blend of popular culture, high art, and suburban living.

Released in 2022, Dogsbody features ten tracks that showcase the band’s ability to create music that is both urgent and introspective. From the opening track, “Dress Rehearsal,” to the closing track, “All in a Day’s Work,” the album takes listeners on a journey through Haden’s encounters and observations of the world around him.

The album’s lead single, “Amaranth,” is a standout track that showcases the band’s ability to blend different genres and styles seamlessly. The song’s driving rhythm and infectious melody are complemented by Haden’s introspective lyrics, which touch on themes of isolation and self-doubt.

Photo: Pitchfork

Opinions expressed by Entertainment Monthly News contributors are their own.