Reality TV shows have enthralled audiences across the globe because of their rawness, relatability, and candid moments. Such shows have entertained people by showcasing authentic lives, from celebrities to ordinary individuals. Its rise to popularity eventually paved the way for an award-winning body to rise: the creation of The American Reality Television Awards (The ARTAS). Now in its eighth year, The ARTAS is seen as one of the most respected organizations in the entertainment industry.

In 2012, creators and executive producers Kristen Moss and Andrew Ward started The ARTAS to “examine and redefine the art of reality in media by rewarding excellence, encouraging experimentation, and recognizing that the public is the heart of our industry.” The ARTAS embraces the spirit of fun and camaraderie, making this version of American television worthy of praise. 

The 8th Annual livestream will be hosted by American actor, musician, and philanthropist Kel Mitchell, best known for his performances in All That, Deliciousness, Dancing With The Stars, Good Burger Ed, Mystery Men, Invisible Boy, and Kenan & Kel Kel Kimble

“I’m so happy to be hosting the 8th annual American Reality Television Awards. This is going to be so much fun! I’m not nervous at all,” shared Kel Mitchell. “After dancing 13 different ballroom dance styles in front of millions for 11 weeks straight, sometimes in silky pants, a see-through shirt, and going home finding confetti in the weirdest places on my body. I’m ready for anything,” this year’s host added.

Furthermore, the host shared that watching reality shows is a bond he shares with his wife. 

“After we put our little ones to bed, my wife Asia and I love watching all the reality television we have recorded on DVR. Like Married at First Sight, Ready for Love, The Real Housewives of Atlanta, 90 Day Fiancé, and so many more!”

The 8th Annual ARTAS will welcome presenters and appearances from Emmy, Tony, and Grammy winner Kristin Chenoweth, Luke Bryan, Katy Perry, Lionel Richie, Amy Schumer, Kate Thurston, Wayne Brady, Sherri Shepherd and Kym Whitley, Brian Austin Green, Mama June Shannon, Abby Lee Miller, Ken Jennings, Alfonso Ribeiro, Brandi Glanville, Maegan Martin, and more. The star-studded show is indeed one of the most anticipated events of the year.

Also participating are cast members from reality TV shows, including Chrisley Knows Best, Married to Medicine, My Feet Are Killing Me, House of Ho, The Challenge: All Stars, Crikey! It’s the Irwins, Pit Bulls and Parolees, and more. The awards night will also feature a special performance from Diego Pasillas, the recent winner of NBC’s World of Dance.

Among this year’s network nominations, ABC takes the lead with 38, followed by Food Network with 20, Amazon with 13, TLC with 11, and National Geographic with 9. Regarding production company nominations, Fremantle takes the lead with the most, followed by Universal Television Alternative Studio, Amazon Studios, and Eureka Productions. 

The ARTAS winners will be revealed this Wednesday night, July 7, 2021, at 7pmPT and 10pmET. Learn more about the upcoming awards ceremony on its website.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.